Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Holiday 2019 Meal Plan

Above, you are seeing my holiday meal plan for this year. I wanted to try and cook lamb. I’ve eaten lamb before but never cooked it myself. I also wanted cornbread. Since moving to Germany, I’ve been missing this southern USA classic. The last part of this dish is mashed squash. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find squash so I made basmati rice instead. For dessert, wanted no-bake key lime pie. I’ve never made it myself but I love it. I’m very particular about it too because everybody’s key lime pie doesn’t taste the same. So this is the reality:

Lamb Chops, cornbread, mixed veggies and rice

I ran into some issues cooking my meal. The lamb chops recipe I used is HERE! I used onions instead of garlic. I bought lamb chops from the butcher and they were packaged in a plastic bag for a couple days until I cooked the meat. Learn from my mistakes: take the meat out of the bag IMMEDIATELY! My meat was literally marinated in plastic so it tasted like plastic. I couldn’t get that taste out. Other than that, the texture was exactly like cooking steak and I’m sure it would have tasted great using the spices from this recipe. I’ll make this again and eat it when I can actually taste the meat!

For the cornbread, Germany doesn’t have cornmeal! *My southern American food dreams shatter* 😢 But there is hope! ☺️I used 1/2 cup of corn flour (mais mehl) and 1/2 cup of polenta. I am suprised how close this came to tasting like cornbread at home. Thank goodness for knowing about substitutions!

Key Lime Pie

Speaking of substitutions, I made many with the Key Lime Pie using this recipe. I forgot to buy heavy cream so I created some kind of milk+cornstarch (Speisestarke)+sugar+vanilla extract substitution and cooked it on low heat for 5min to make a cream texture. Keep in mind, I had no idea if this would work. I used marscapone instead of cream cheese because I don’t like the taste of cream cheese in desserts. Personal preference. I could have used quark too but marscapone is my favorite.

For the crust, I just crumbled butter cookies. I made this with a tiramisu method. No need to add butter or cook the crust in my mind. It’s fine as-is. All quantities are the same as in the recipe. I’m pleasantly surprised how good this is!! I bought 8 limes but only needed 4. I have enough to make another batch. And I will!! But next time I’ll use real heavy cream. ☺️