Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Throughout USA, Sur la Table is known for its kitchen supplies and cooking classes. I’m back in USA with some time to actually go to a couple classes. They range from $30-80 per class. If you wait to book your class, you might be able to get your class half off! They usually discount the tickets if not enough people sign up for the class. I took 2 classes. Oktoberfest and Autumn in Paris.

Oktoberfest

The menu for this meal is German themed. We made Braised red cabbage with apples and bacon, crispy pork schnitzel, and black forest mini bundt cakes.

Let’s start with the braised cabbage. This is the best cabbage I’ve ever had. Apples, bacon, onions, raspberry/cherry jam and spices….phenomenal! The sauce to the right is browned butter, lemon juice and fresh parsley sauce for the pork schnitzel. Such a simple sauce and tastes great with the pork or any meat.

Here is the delicious black forest bundt cake. Chocolate cake with homemade cherry syrup, cherries and whipped cream. A very rich cake with balanced flavors. If I wasn’t so full from eating a lot of that delicious cabbage, I would’ve eaten another cake too. We had leftovers of everything because only 4 students registered! Best case scenario! Hands on cooking for each of us. 😉

And last but not least, pork schnitzel. A schnitzel is just breaded meat that’s pan fried. I seasoned the pork tendeloin with pepper and salt on both sides. Then I floured, dipped in egg wash and covered with plain panko bread crumbs. Fried them in a skillet until golden brown on each side with 1/4cup of vegetable oil.

Overall, I loved this class. My classmates were lovely women and chef Stephen was knowledgeable with a sense of humor. 🙂

Autumn in Paris

Our chef Jeremy was quite comical. He talked about his france cooking classes and his southern hometown. I cut myself and burned myself during this night. So I was the pun of some jokes because I kept getting hurt at almost every process of cooking. It was funny to me. 🙂

Anyway, for the main entrée we made Steak Au Poivre and Roasted potatoes with Espelette and Thyme. I loved the potatoes and the brandy sauce we added on top of the steak. This is a complete savory meal. We also made Braised leaks but considering this class was bigger due to it being “Date Night, ” we each got a small leak to taste when they were finished cooking.

And finally for dessert we made Crêpes Suzette. I was always a little apprehensive about making crêpes because of flipping them in the pan and getting them thin enough to be crêpes and not pancakes. These were very nice. And the orange syrup sauce we made for it wasn’t too over powering. I didn’t feel like I was eating a crêpe smothered in orange juice. It was a good balance. 

