Tags

, ,

  

I love spaghetti alla carbonara. I’ve eaten it many times and I’ve watched people prepare it. I know how important it is to make sure the eggs don’t cook & scramble. In attempt to make this for myself, I failed. Part of sharing my foodie adventures includes telling you what NOT to do. Please, if you don’t want to drown in chef humiliation, learn from my mistakes. Seriously, it felt devastating when I know, I know how to cook.

Also, I’m still practicing my food presentation. So if you think the picture I took of the food looks good, I have successfully managed to fool you. I magically turned an apple into an orange here….and I sprinkled it with parmigiano reggiano cheese and parsley.

I used the recipe from Tyler Florence Here. If only I measured the spaghetti properly. I completely boiled too much spaghetti!!! I wasn’t thinking straight. This meal would have been perfect if I had the right amount of spaghetti and stirred in the egg & cheese mixture into the spaghetti and pancetta instead of doing it the opposite way. It was drier than sandpaper! I found a link to show me how to do this right. 

Watch it here: http://dish.allrecipes.com/the-simple-move-that-makes-creamy-spaghetti-alla-carbonara-with-zero-cream/?utm_source=dish&utm_medium=fb&utm_campaign=carbonara-zero-cream

Next time I make this, I’d rather have less spaghetti. I can always add more if it’s too creamy. But creamy is good, right? And if you want to know how I saved this dry mistake, I added 2 jars of Prego spaghetti sauce to bring it back to life.

