Tags

, , ,

20131222-205135.jpg

I’m traveling on the Route 66 north in Flagstaff, AZ. I heard Guy Fieri (Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives) also made a stop at this Mexican restaurant called Salsa Brava!

This restaurant has been voted best Mexican food in Flagstaff and best salsa. I’m always looking for good Mexican food. I ordered the same thing Guy did, the Stuffed Sopapilla: $12.99 stuffed fry bread with beans, cheese, sour cream and your choice of meat and sauce. This thing was huge! I couldn’t finish it all and had to take the rest to-go. They serve it with rice and beans. Very fulfilling and very different. I had mine with chicken but next time I’d like to try it with pork! I smelled some pork go pass me and it smelled delicious.

The Pineapple Habanero salsa was very good (pictured lower right of chips)!
I’d like to try to make some myself! I made the mistake of eating too much of the complimentary chips and salsa before my meal was cooked. They have a variety of other salsas you can choose from on their salsa bar. If the after-taste gets too spicy for you like it did for me, they do have milk you can order to diminish some of the spiciness from the salsa.

I also ordered a blended mango margarita. I enjoyed it. Even though it was cold outside, this was still refreshing. If you’re ever traveling on Route 66 passing through Flagstaff and you want to try out some good salsa and a variety of Mexican meals, stop by!20131222-205147.jpg

20131222-205157.jpg

