Tags

, , , , , , , ,

With my homemade shortbread recipe, I got even more creative. Not only did I decide to use cookie cutters, I also changed the ingredients. The last time I made my shortbread I used butter. This time, I decided to replace butter with Crisco’s butter shortening. I kept the remaining ingredients the same (nutmeg, vanilla extract, brown sugar, granulated sugar). Except I decided to add 1/4 cup more of both sugars than the regular half cup.

When I took the cookies out of the oven after 15 minutes, they turned into crumbs with just a simple touch. I’m going to label this occurrence as, “The shortening effect” because it didn’t happen with butter. But after I let the cookies cool for a couple hours, they were hard like they should be. This batch turned out great! I think I found a winner in this batch! 🙂

